Sunday, March 17, 2013

Call to Action! Connecticut E-Cigarette Usage Ban -- SB 990 (UPDATED)

Connecticut: Attempt to Add E-Cigarettes to "Smoking" Ban -- SB 990


This bill would:
Ban the use of e-cigarettes in any public place where smoking is prohibited.

Because Connecticut law bans "smoking" in any tobacco shop that has changed its size or opened since the end of 2002, e-cigarette usage would also be banned in brick & mortar e-cigarette stores stores across Connecticut. 


Full text of SB 990 
Legislative tracking for SB 990

UPDATE (3/17/2013): The Joint Committee on Public Health held a public hearing on SB 990 on Friday, March 15th.  Due to the volume of people who testified on other bills before the committee, two CASAA directors and over a dozen vapers waited over 14 hours to testify.  Video of the testimony can be found hereCASAA Director Gregory Conley's testimony was filmed separately and will be posted soon.   

The committee has not yet voted on SB 990, and thus e-mails and phone calls in opposition to SB 990 are still needed


Please call, write or fax the members of the Joint Committee on Public Health below

What to say:
1. You would like them to vote NO on SB 990.

2. Tell your story on how switching to an e-cigarette has changed your life.

3. Explain how electronic cigarette use is easy to distinguish from actual smoking. Although some e-cigarettes resemble real cigarettes, many do not. It is easy to tell when someone lights a cigarette, from the smell of smoke. E-cigarette vapor is practically odorless, and generally any detectable odor is not unpleasant and smells nothing like smoke.


4. If you are a Connecticut resident and currently vape in public, talk your experience.  Do businesses you frequent allow you to vape?  What about your office? 


5. Let them know that vapor does not behave in the same manner as smoke. There is no "side stream" vapor like the side stream smoke coming from the lit end of a cigarette. There is also no ash or litter. With so little evidence of use, enforcing indoor use bans on electronic cigarettes would be nearly impossible.

6. Inform them that the ability to use electronic cigarettes in public spaces will actually improve public health by inspiring other smokers to switch. Surveys of thousands of users indicate that the majority of those who switch, completely replace tobacco cigarettes with the electronic cigarettes, reducing their health risks by 98-99%.

7. Tell them that by switching to a smokeless product, you have greatly reduced your health risks.

8. Direct them to the CASAA.org website for more information.

Joint Committee on Public Health -- Who to Contact

The legislators on the Joint Committee on Public Health can be contacted both by e-mail and using the phone numbers listed below.  

Senate Democrats 860-240-8600; Senate Republicans 860-240-8800
House Democrats 860-240-8500; House Republicans 860-240-8700

Committee Members from the Senate:
Senator Terry B. Gerratana (D) (Chair) - terry.gerratana@cga.ct.gov
Senator Gayle S. Slossberg (D) (Vice Chair) - gayle.slossberg@cga.ct.gov
Senator Jason C. Welch (R) (Ranking Member) - Jason.Welch@cga.ct.gov
Senator Danté Bartolomeo (D) - Dante.Bartolomeo@cga.ct.gov
Senator Anthony J. Musto (D) - anthony.musto@cga.ct.gov 
Senator Robert J. Kane (R) - Rob.Kane@cga.ct.gov

Committee Members from the House:
Rep. Susan M. Johnson (D) Chair) - Susan.Johnson@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Philip J. Miller (D) (Vice Chair) - Philip.Miller@cga.ct.gov 
Rep. Prasad Srinivasan (R) (Ranking Member) - prasad.srinivasan@housegop.ct.gov
Rep. Mike Demicco (D) - Mike.Demicco@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Peter A. Tercyak (D) - Peter.Tercyak@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Melissa H. Ziobron (R) - Melissa.Ziobron@housegop.ct.gov
Rep. Emmett D. Riley (D) - Emmett.Riley@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Christopher Davis (R) - christopher.davis@housegop.ct.gov
Rep. David Alexander (D) - David.Alexander@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Peggy Sayers (D) - Peggy.Sayers@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Michelle L. Cook (D) - Michelle.Cook@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Whit Betts (R) - whit.betts@housegop.ct.gov
Rep. David Zoni (D) - David.Zoni@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Patricia M. Widlitz (D) - Patricia.Widlitz@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Theresa W. Conroy (D) - Theresa.Conroy@cga.ct.gov
Rep. David A. Scribner (R) - David.Scribner@housegop.ct.gov
Rep. David Arconti (D) - David.Arconti@cga.ct.gov
Rep. DebraLee Hovey (R) - DebraLee.Hovey@housegop.ct.gov
Rep. Jason Perillo (R) - jason.perillo@housegop.ct.gov 
Rep. Themis Klarides (R) - Themis.Klarides@housegop.ct.gov
Rep. James Maroney (D) - James.Maroney@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Kevin Ryan (D) - Kevin.Ryan@cga.ct.gov

Comma delimited list:
PHC.Testimony@cga.ct.gov, terry.gerratana@cga.ct.gov, gayle.slossberg@cga.ct.gov, jason.welch@cga.ct.gov, dante.bartolomeo@cga.ct.gov, anthony.musto@cga.ct.gov, rob.kane@cga.ct.gov, susan.johnson@cga.ct.gov, philip.miller@cga.ct.gov, prasad.srinivasan@housegop.ct.gov, mike.demicco@cga.ct.gov, peter.tercyak@cga.ct.gov, melissa.ziobron@housegop.ct.gov, emmett.riley@cga.ct.gov, christopher.davis@housegop.ct.gov, david.alexander@cga.ct.gov, peggy.sayers@cga.ct.gov, michelle.cook@cga.ct.gov, whit.betts@housegop.ct.gov, david.zoni@cga.ct.gov, patricia.widlitz@cga.ct.gov, theresa.conroy@cga.ct.gov, david.scribner@housegop.ct.gov, david.arconti@cga.ct.gov, debralee.hovey@housegop.ct.gov, jason.perillo@housegop.ct.gov, themis.klarides@housegop.ct.gov, james.maroney@cga.ct.gov, kevin.ryan@cga.ct.gov

8 comments:

Timothy Meyers said...

Thank you for providing us with the information. We will do whatever we can to assist.

April Meyers - Northeast Vapor Supplies, Branford, CT

Spike Buxton said...

You should consider sending them a copy of this study that shows indoor vaping does not cause harm to bystanders
www.IVAQS.com

Healthy Vaping said...

A lot of emails to send out!. Chris told me to come check you guys out! I'll be up there possibly this week if he can get my car radio project in. Look forward to meeting you guys! I'd like to get one of those something i30 tanks!? Supposed to be better than the Nova. Wish I knew the exact name. And I'm always looking for cool and interesting/different drip tips. I'll see about getting some of these emails in.
Trevor.

Muhammad Amir said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
Timothy Meyers said...

Healthy what kind of car radio project you have going on? I just sold the car audio part of my business but I can always help you out and steer you in the right direction.Ive been in that industry for 20 plus years. 203-483-8888 if you need any help. Tim

pageanmoon said...

Email sent!

Jennifer Askew said...

I sent an e-mail as well. I followed the suggestions listed.

Rob Gumpright said...

I sent a letter as well and this is the response I received from one member of the house.

Robert--



Thank you for your thoughtful and informative e-mail.



As you may know, the Public health Committee held a public hearing on SB 990 (e-cigs) in March, but no action was taken on the bill, effectively dismissing it for this legislative session.



If it is proposed again next year, please feel free to contact me with any helpful information.



Thanks! --Mike Demicco