Thursday, June 20, 2013

Call to Action! SUPPORT Arizona Bill to Ban E-Cigarette Sales to Minors - SB 1209 (ENDED -- Signed into law)

UPDATE (6/22/2013): CASAA is pleased to announce that the Arizona House passed SB 1209 by a vote of 44-12.  Shortly thereafter, Arizona Gov. Jan Brewer signed SB 1209 into law.  

To see who voted against this common sense measure, see this link. If your representative(s) voted against this bill, he or she likely did so because of the lobbying by the American Cancer Society and other like-minded groups.  Please consider asking for a meeting with members who voted 'nay' so that you can provide them with accurate information on e-cigarettes and tobacco harm reduction.

Arizona: SUPPORT Bill to Prohibit E-Cigarette Sales to Minors -- SB 1209


 [full text]

 If enacted, this bill would:
- Ban sales of "vapor products" (e-cigarettes) and "tobacco-derived products" (dissolvables) to minors
- NOT tax these products 
- NOT define these products to be "tobacco products" under Arizona law 

The American Cancer Society has been out lobbying against enactment of this bill.  Why?  CASAA Science Director Dr. Carl Phillips took on this issue here and here, but it boils down to this -- the American Cancer Society doesn't just want e-cigarette sales banned to minors.  The American Cancer Society wants e-cigarettes to be taxed and treated just like cigarettes, and they are willing to stop a ban on sales of the product to minors if a bill doesn't set the stage for this to happen in the future.

SB 1209 has already passed the Arizona Senate and gone through the House committee process. The final step before going to the Governor's desk is to pass the full House. 

The below legislators need to hear from Arizona e-cigarette users who SUPPORT SB 1209. 



Please call or write the members of the Arizona House of Representatives below
 
1. Inform them you SUPPORT SB 1209 because it would wisely ban sales of "vapor products" to minors, but would NOT tax the product or define them as a "tobacco product."

2. Tell your story about how e-cigarettes have changed your life, but note that you still believe that minors should not be permitted to purchase the product. 


3.  Inform them that opposition to SB 1209 is coming from groups like the American Cancer Society and American Lung Association, which have engaged in a four-year-long disinformation campaign against e-cigarettes.  Inform them that ACS and ALA are being dishonest about their true motives in opposing this common sense measure.

4. Direct them to the CASAA.org website for more information.

Members of the Arizona House of Representatives:

It is extremely important for Arizona citizens to personally contact their two representatives in the Arizona House and urge them to vote YES on SB 1209. You can find out what district you are in by using the Arizona Legislature's 'Find My Legislator' website or this Google Maps extension (click where you live and the ID number is the district).  

When writing legislators, be sure to include your address (or at least city) so the legislators know they are being contacted by Arizona citizens.

Comma delimited email list:
jallen@azleg.gov, lalston@azleg.gov, bbarton@azleg.gov, sborrelli@azleg.gov, pboyer@azleg.gov, kbrophymcgee@azleg.gov, chcampbell@azleg.gov, mcardenas@azleg.gov, hcarter@azleg.gov, dcoleman@azleg.gov, lcontreras@azleg.gov, adalessandro@azleg.gov, jdial@azleg.gov, jescamilla@azleg.gov, kfann@azleg.gov, efarnsworth@azleg.gov, tforese@azleg.gov, rgabaldon@azleg.gov, rgallego@azleg.gov, sgonzales@azleg.gov, dgoodale@azleg.gov, dgowan@azleg.gov, rgray@azleg.gov, ahale@azleg.gov, lhernandez@azleg.gov, jkavanagh@azleg.gov, akwasman@azleg.gov, jlarkin@azleg.gov, dlesko@azleg.gov, dlivingston@azleg.gov, plovas@azleg.gov, smach@azleg.gov, ddavis@azleg.gov, jmendez@azleg.gov, jmesnard@azleg.gov, emeyer@azleg.gov, cmiranda@azleg.gov, dmitchell@azleg.gov, smontenegro@azleg.gov, jolson@azleg.gov, eorr@azleg.gov, lotondo@azleg.gov, jpeshlakai@azleg.gov, wpetersen@azleg.gov, jpierce@azleg.gov, fpratt@azleg.gov, mquezada@azleg.gov, brobson@azleg.gov, msaldate@azleg.gov, cseel@azleg.gov, asherwood@azleg.gov, tshope@azleg.gov, stsmith@azleg.gov, vsteele@azleg.gov, dstevens@azleg.gov, bthorpe@azleg.gov, atobin@azleg.gov, ktownsend@azleg.gov, mugenti@azleg.gov, bwheeler@azleg.gov

House Roster 

Name Sort By Name
District Sort By District
Party
Email
Room
Phone (602)
Fax (602)
Karen Fann 1 R kfann@azleg.gov 316 926-5874 417-3001
Andy Tobin
Speaker of the House
1 R atobin@azleg.gov 221 926-5172 417-3085
Andrea Dalessandro 2 D adalessandro@azleg.gov 118 926-5342 417-3169
Rosanna Gabaldón 2 D rgabaldon@azleg.gov 117 926-3424 417-3129
Sally Ann Gonzales 3 D sgonzales@azleg.gov 116 926-3278 417-3127
Macario Saldate IV 3 D msaldate@azleg.gov 115 926-4171 417-3162
Juan Carlos Escamilla 4 D jescamilla@azleg.gov 126 926-5872 417-3112
Lisa Otondo 4 D lotondo@azleg.gov 123 926-3002 417-3124
Sonny Borrelli 5 R sborrelli@azleg.gov 310 926-5051 417-3003
Doris Goodale 5 R dgoodale@azleg.gov 313 926-5408 417-3103
Brenda Barton 6 R bbarton@azleg.gov 111 926-4129 417-3010
Bob Thorpe 6 R bthorpe@azleg.gov 331 926-5219 417-3118
Jamescita Peshlakai 7 D jpeshlakai@azleg.gov 323 926-5160 417-3002
Albert Hale 7 D ahale@azleg.gov 129 926-4323 417-3160
Frank Pratt 8 R fpratt@azleg.gov 223 926-5761 417-3023
T.J. Shope 8 R tshope@azleg.gov 338 926-3012 417-3123
Victoria Steele 9 D vsteele@azleg.gov 318 926-5683 417-3147
Ethan Orr 9 R eorr@azleg.gov 337 926-3235 417-3030
Stefanie Mach 10 D smach@azleg.gov 125 926-3398 417-3126
Bruce Wheeler
Minority Whip
10 D bwheeler@azleg.gov 333 926-3300 417-3028
Adam Kwasman 11 R akwasman@azleg.gov 344 926-5839 417-3026
Steve Smith 11 R stsmith@azleg.gov 335 926-5685 417-3167
Warren Petersen 12 R wpetersen@azleg.gov 345 926-4136 417-3222
Eddie Farnsworth 12 R efarnsworth@azleg.gov 302 926-5735 417-3122
Steve Montenegro 13 R smontenegro@azleg.gov 218 926-5955 417-3168
Darin Mitchell 13 R dmitchell@azleg.gov 307 926-5894 417-3012
David M. Gowan Sr.
Majority Leader
14 R dgowan@azleg.gov 206 926-3312 417-3130
David W. Stevens 14 R dstevens@azleg.gov 312 926-4321 417-3146
Heather Carter 15 R hcarter@azleg.gov 303 926-5503 417-3107
John Allen 15 R jallen@azleg.gov 131 926-4916 417-3150
Doug Coleman 16 R dcoleman@azleg.gov 308 926-3160 417-3151
Kelly Townsend 16 R ktownsend@azleg.gov 342 926-4467 417-3018
Thomas Forese 17 R tforese@azleg.gov 113 926-5168 417-3021
Javan "J.D." Mesnard
Speaker Pro Tempore
17 R jmesnard@azleg.gov 220 926-4481 417-3152
Jeff Dial 18 R jdial@azleg.gov 110 926-5550 417-3120
Bob Robson 18 R brobson@azleg.gov 217 926-5549 417-3157
Lupe Chavira Contreras 19 D lcontreras@azleg.gov 325 926-5284 417-3106
Mark A. Cardenas 19 D mcardenas@azleg.gov 122 926-3014 417-3048
Paul Boyer 20 R pboyer@azleg.gov 309 926-4173 417-3153
Carl Seel 20 R cseel@azleg.gov 330 926-3018 417-3006
Rick Gray
Majority Whip
21 R rgray@azleg.gov 219 926-5993 417-3225
Debbie Lesko 21 R dlesko@azleg.gov 222 926-5413 417-3109
Phil Lovas 22 R plovas@azleg.gov 130 926-3297 417-3004
David Livingston 22 R dlivingston@azleg.gov 341 926-4178 417-3154
John Kavanagh 23 R jkavanagh@azleg.gov 114 926-5170 417-3108
Michelle Ugenti 23 R mugenti@azleg.gov 339 926-4480 417-3155
Chad Campbell
Minority Leader
24 D chcampbell@azleg.gov 320 926-3026 417-3037
Lela Alston 24 D lalston@azleg.gov 332 926-5829 417-3115
Justin Olson 25 R jolson@azleg.gov 306 926-5288 417-3161
Justin Pierce 25 R jpierce@azleg.gov 112 926-5495 417-3019
Juan Mendez 26 D jmendez@azleg.gov 120 926-4124 417-3017
Andrew Sherwood 26 D asherwood@azleg.gov 121 926-3028 417-3038
Ruben Gallego
Assistant Minority Leader
27 D rgallego@azleg.gov 321 926-3042 417-3117
Catherine H. Miranda 27 D cmiranda@azleg.gov 329 926-4893 417-3116
Kate Brophy McGee 28 R kbrophymcgee@azleg.gov 304 926-4486 417-3170
Eric Meyer 28 D emeyer@azleg.gov 334 926-3037 417-3111
Martín J. Quezada 29 D mquezada@azleg.gov 324 926-5911 417-3171
Lydia Hernández 29 D lhernandez@azleg.gov 119 926-3376 417-3176
Jonathan Larkin 30 D jlarkin@azleg.gov 124 926-5058 417-3015
Debbie McCune Davis 30 D ddavis@azleg.gov 322 926-4485 417-3014
 

2 comments:

Matthew Rainey said...

Great thanks for the heads up I will let all of my friends and my local vaper group know.

Stephen said...

Contacted my Reps. Thanks for the heads up.