Saturday, February 1, 2014

Call to Action! Massachusetts E-Cigarette Usage Ban -- HB 3726 (formerly HB 3639) (UPDATED)

Massachusetts: Bill Would Ban E-Cigarette Sales to Minors, But Also Add E-Cigarettes to State's "Smoking" Ban -- HB 3639 HB 3726


 
[legislative tracking + full text]

If enacted, this bill would: 
Ban e-cigarette sales to minors, but would also...
  • Ban the use of e-cigarettes in virtually all workplaces in Massachusetts
  • Ban e-cigarette use in e-cigarette stores unless a vendor obtains a tobacco license. 
CASAA is looking for members in the Massachusetts area who can testify in opposition to the e-cigarette usage ban when this bill has committee hearings in Boston.  If you may be able to attend, please e-mail us at board@casaa.org with the subject line "MA Testimony."




UPDATE (11/5/2013):  October 30, 2013, the Joint Committee on Public Health reported favorably and referred to the Joint Committee on Health Care Financing.  The Call to Action has been updated to include contact information for the Joint Committee on Health Care Financing.  HB 3639 has been replaced by HB 3726.

UPDATE (10/5/2013): The anti-harm reduction crowd in Massachusetts was out in full force at Monday's hearing, including Massachusetts Attorney General Martha Coakley (who senselessly wants e-cigarette flavors banned).  Despite short notice, vapers did attend the hearing and share their stories with the committee.

The Joint Committee on Public Health has not voted on the bill, so please continue to send your thoughts. Additionally, keep in mind that even if this committee votes to move the bill forward, the bill still has a long road to travel. Vapers must remain vigilant.

UPDATE (9/30/2013): The Massachusetts Joint Committee on Public Health will meet to discuss HB 3639 tomorrow, October 1st, at 10 A.M. at the Massachusetts State House (24 Beacon Street in Boston, MA). CASAA is requesting that vapers attend and speak.  If you are planning on attending, please contact us at board@casaa.org

UPDATE (9/26/2013): Two newspaper editorial boards, Salem News and Eagle Tribune, have come out against banning e-cigarette use indoors.  You may want to pass along these editorials to the legislators. (Since 9/26, Salem News and Eagle Tribune have been joined by the Boston Herald).

Please call or write the members of the Massachusetts Joint Committee on Public Health
Please call or write the members of the Massachusetts Joint Committee on Health Financing
What to say:
1. You support banning the sale of e-cigarettes to minors, but would like them to vote NO on HB 3639  HB 3726 unless the ban on e-cigarette usage in public places is removed.

2. Tell your story on how switching to an e-cigarette has changed your life.

3.
Explain how smoking bans are enacted to protect the public from the harm of secondhand smoke, but e-cigarettes have not been shown to cause harm to bystanders. In fact, all evidence to date shows that the low health risks associated with e-cigarettes is comparable to other smokeless nicotine products.

The low risks of e-cigarettes is supported by research done by Dr. Siegel of Boston University, Dr. Eisse
nberg of Virginia Commonwealth,
Dr Maciej L Goniewicz of the Roswell Park Cancer Institute, Dr. Laugesen of Health New Zealand, Dr. Igor Burstyn of Drexel University, and by the fact that the FDA testing, in spite of its press statement, failed to find harmful levels of carcinogens or toxic levels of any chemical in the vapor.

4. Detail how electronic cigarette use is easy to distinguish from actual smoking. Although some e-cigarettes resemble real cigarettes, many do not. It is easy to tell when someone lights a cigarette, from the smell of smoke. E-cigarette vapor is practically odorless, and generally any detectable odor is not unpleasant and smells nothing like smoke. Additionally, e-cigarette users can decide whether to release any vapor ("stealth vaping").  With so little evidence of use, enforcing indoor use bans on electronic cigarettes would be nearly impossible.

5. If you are a Massachusetts resident and currently vape in public, talk about your experience.  Do businesses you frequent allow you to vape?  What about your office? Be sure to include your address and full name.

6. Inform them that the ability to use electronic cigarettes in public spaces will actually improve public health by inspiring other smokers to switch. Surveys of thousands of users indicate that the majority of those who switch, completely replace tobacco cigarettes with the electronic cigarettes, reducing their health risks by 98-99%.

7. Tell them that by switching to a smokeless product, you have greatly reduced your health risks.

8. Direct them to the CASAA.org website, as well as the CASAA Research Library, for more information.

Contacting the Members of the Massachusetts Joint Committee on Health Financing:

Comma delimited e-mail list:

james.welch@masenate.gov, brian.a.joyce@masenate.gov, mike.barrett@masenate.gov, patricia.jehlen@masenate.gov, bruce.tarr@masenate.gov, barry.finegold@masenate.gov, anthony.petruccelli@masenate.gov, steven.walsh@mahouse.gov, jennifer.benson@mahouse.gov, gloria.fox@mahouse.gov, sean.garballey@mahouse.gov, paul.brodeur@mahouse.gov, tricia.farley-bouvier@mahouse.gov, dave.rogers@mahouse.gov, leah.cole@mahouse.gov, ruth.balser@mahouse.gov, jason.lewis@mahouse.gov, michael.finn@mahouse.gov, marjorie.decker@mahouse.gov, f.jaybarrows@mahouse.gov

Members of the Joint Committee on Health Financing:
For a list of the counties that these legislators represent, please see here for the Senate and here for the House.


Senator James T. Welch (D) (Senate Chairman) [Springfield]
Room 416A
Boston, MA 02133
Phone:  617-722-1660
Fax (District):  413-306-5179

Senator Brian A. Joyce (D) (Senate Vice Chairman) [Milton]
Room 109D
Boston, MA 02133
Phone:  617-722-1643
Fax:  617-722-1522

Senator Michael Barrett (D) [Lexington]
Room 313A
Boston, MA 02133
Phone:  617-722-1572
Fax:  617-626-0898

Senator Patricia D. Jehlen (D) [Somerville]
Room 513
Boston, MA 02133
Phone:  617-722-1578
Fax:  617-722-1117
Email:  Patricia.Jehlen@masenate.gov

Senator Bruce E. Tarr (R) (Minority Leader) [Gloucester]
Room 308
Boston, MA 02133
Phone:  617-722-1600
Fax:  617-722-1310

Senator Barry R. Finegold (D) [Andover]
Room 416B
Boston, MA 02133
Phone:  617-722-1612
Fax:  617-722-1058

Senator Anthony W. Petruccelli (D) [East Boston]
Room 424
Boston, MA 02133
Phone:  617-722-1634
Fax:  617-722-1076

Representative Steven M. Walsh (D) (House Chairman) [Lynn]
Room 236
Boston, MA 02133
Phone:  617-722-2430
Fax:  617-722-2346

Representative Jennifer E. Benson (D) (House Vice Chairman) [Lunenburg]
Room 236
Boston, MA 02133
Phone:  617-722-2430
Fax:  617-722-2813

Representative Gloria L. Fox (D) [Roxbury]
Room 167
Boston, MA 02133
Phone:  617-722-2810
Fax:  617-722-2846

Representative Sean Garballey (D) [Arlington]
Room 540
Boston, MA 02133
Phone:  617-722-2090
Fax:  617-722-2848

Representative Paul A. Brodeur (D) [Melrose]
Room 43
Boston, MA 02133
Phone:  617-722-2030
Fax:  617-626-2215

Representative Tricia Farley-Bouvier (D) [Pittsfield]
Room 156
Boston, MA 02133
Phone:  617-722-2240

Representative David M. Rogers (D) [Cambridge]
Room 134
Boston, MA 02133
Phone:  617-722-2400
Fax:  617-626-0275

Representative Leah Cole (R) [Peabody]
Room 236
Boston, MA 02133
Phone:  617-722-2430
Fax:  617-626-0832

Representative Ruth B. Balser (D) [Newton]
Room 136
Boston, MA 02133
Phone:  617-722-2396
Fax:  617-626-0119

Representative Jason M. Lewis (D) [Winchester]
Room 466
Boston, MA 02133
Phone:  617-722-2017
Fax:  617-722-2849

Representative Michael J. Finn (D) [West Springfield]
Room 544
Boston, MA 02133
Phone:  617-722-2637
Fax:  617-626-0189

Representative Marjorie C. Decker (D) [Cambridge]
Room 236
Boston, MA 02133
Phone:  617-722-2430
Fax:  617-626-0337

Representative F. Jay Barrows (R) [Mansfield]
Room 542
Boston, MA 02133
Phone:  617-722-2488
Fax:  617-722-2390



Contacting the Members of the Massachusetts Joint Committee on Public Health

Comma delimited e-mail list: john.keenan@masenate.gov, jeffrey.sanchez@mahouse.gov, marc.pacheco@masenate.gov, jason.lewis@mahouse.gov, katherine.clark@masenate.gov, james.timilty@masenate.gov, joan.lovely@masenate.gov, robert.hedlund@masenate.gov, christine.canavan@mahouse.gov, ruth.balser@mahouse.gov, cleon.turner@mahouse.gov, denise.garlick@mahouse.gov, keiko.orrall@mahouse.gov, christopher.fallon@mahouse.gov, carl.sciortino@mahouse.gov, carolyn.dykema@mahouse.gov, james.lyons@mahouse.gov


Members of the Joint Committee on Public Health


[name] denotes city of residence

For a list of the counties that these legislators represent, please see here for the Senate and here for the House.

Sen. John F. Keenan (D) (Senate Chairman) [Quincy]
Room 413B
Boston, MA 02133
Phone: 617-722-1494
Fax: 617-722-1055
Email: John.Keenan@masenate.gov

Rep. Jeffrey Sanchez (D) (House Chairman) [Jamaica Plain & Boston] *Bill Sponsor*
Room 130
Boston, MA 02133
Phone: 617-722-2130
Email: Jeffrey.sanchez@mahouse.gov

Sen. Marc R. Pacheco (D) [Taunton]
Room 312B
Boston, MA 02133
Phone: 617-722-1551
Fax: 617-722-1074
Email: Marc.Pacheco@masenate.gov

Rep. Jason M. Lewis (D) [Winchester]
State House
Room 466
Boston, MA 02133
Phone: 617-722-2017
Fax: 617-722-2849
Email: Jason.Lewis@mahouse.gov

Sen. Katherine Clark (D) [Melrose]
Room 410
Boston, MA 02133
Phone: 617-722-1206
Fax: 617-722-1063
Email: Katherine.Clark@masenate.gov

Sen. James E. Timilty (D) [Walpole]
State House
Room 507
Boston, MA 02133
Phone: 617 722-1222
Fax: 617-722-1056
Email: James.Timilty@masenate.gov

Sen. Joan B. Lovely (D) [Salem]
Room 215
Boston, MA 02133
Phone: 617-722-1410
Fax: 617-722-1347
Email: Joan.Lovely@masenate.gov

Robert L. Hedlund (R) [Weymouth]
Room 313C
Boston, MA 02133
Phone: 617-722-1646
Fax: 617-722-1028
Email: Robert.Hedlund@masenate.gov

Rep. Christine E. Canavan (D) [Brockton]
Room 146
Boston, MA 02133
Phone: 617-722-2575
Fax: 617-722-2238
Email: Christine.Canavan@mahouse.gov

Rep. Ruth B. Balser (D) [Newton]
Room 136
Boston, MA 02133
Phone: 617-722-2396
Fax: 617-626-0119
Email: Ruth.Balser@mahouse.gov

Rep. Cleon H. Turner (D) [Dennis]
Room 540
Boston, MA 02133
Phone: 617-722-2090
Fax: 617-626-0542
Email: Cleon.Turner@mahouse.gov

Rep. Denise C. Garlick (D) [Needham]
Room 473G
Boston, MA 02133
Phone: 617-722-2070
Fax: 617-626-0197
Email: Denise.Garlick@mahouse.gov

Rep. Keiko M. Orrall (D) [Lakeville]
Room 540
Boston, MA 02133
Phone: 617-722-2090
Fax: 617-626-0477
Email: Keiko.Orrall@mahouse.gov

Rep. Christopher G. Fallon (D) [Malden]
Room 236
Boston, MA 02133
Phone: 617-722-2430
Fax: 617-722-2436
Email: Christopher.Fallon@mahouse.gov

Rep. Carl M. Sciortino, Jr (D) [Medford]
Room 472
Boston, MA 02133
Phone: 617-722-2013
Fax: 617-626-0127
Email: Carl.Sciortino@mahouse.gov

Rep. Carolyn C. Dykema (D) [Holliston]
Room 473F
Boston, MA 02133
Phone: 617-722-2210
Fax: 617-722-2239
Email: Carolyn.Dykema@mahouse.gov

Rep. James J. Lyons, Jr (D) [Andover]
Room 39
Boston, MA 02133
Phone: 617-722-2014
Fax: 617-626-0246
Email: James.Lyons@mahouse.gov

1 comment:

  1. Direct Quote from the New York Times: Electronic cigarettes are battery-powered devices that turn liquid nicotine into a vapor inhaled by the user. They are safer than cigarettes, because they don’t contain all the carcinogens and other toxic substances found in tobacco smoke, and they can often be effective in helping adults cut down on their use of conventional cigarettes. Published: September 15, 2013

    ReplyDelete