Monday, February 10, 2014

Call to Action New Mexico: URGENT! Support HB 15 Ban on Sales to Minors as Introduced with no Amendments

UPDATE 3/11/14:  Call to Action Ended.  Legislative session has ended and legislation did not pass.

Ask New Mexico Members of the House of Representatives to Vote YES on HB 15 and to REJECT ANY AMENDMENTS

 [legislative tracking + full text]

 If enacted, this bill would:

- Ban sales of e-cigarettes to minors
- NOT tax these products  
- NOT define these products to be "tobacco products" under New Mexico law   

HB 15 is a common sense bill that CASAA supports.  However, it has been attacked by some members of the New Mexico legislature.  We have been told that attempts are being made during the committee process to amend the bill to include provisions that would severely impact adult e-cigarette users, setting the stage for possible taxation and inclusion in smoking bans.

Over the past year, the American Cancer Society, American Lung Association, and Campaign for Tobacco Free Kids have been out lobbying against enactment of bills that ban e-cigarette sales to minors, and it they are trying to kill HB 15.  Why?  CASAA Science Director Dr. Carl Phillips took on this issue here and here, but it boils down to this -- these groups don't just want e-cigarette sales banned to minors.  They want e-cigarettes to be taxed and treated just like cigarettes, and they are willing to stop a ban on sales of the product to minors if a bill doesn't accomplish this goal.

URGENT!  We need New Mexico vapers to respectfully encourage their representative in the House of Representatives to vote YES on HB 15 as originally introduced and to REJECT any amendments. The bill is currently being considered in committee and may go to the full House soon, so time is of the essence. Please see the below list to find out who represents you or use this tool on the New Mexico Legislature's website.


The below legislators need to hear from New Mexico citizens who SUPPORT HB 15.

What to say:
 
1. 
You are a resident of New Mexico and while you SUPPORT banning sales of e-cigarettes to minors, you OPPOSE any legislation that would define e-cigarettes as tobacco products, tax them, include them in smoking bans, or in any way make e-cigarettes less affordable or accessible to adult consumers. (If you are responding to this Call to Action and are not a state resident, please mention any connection you have to the area, for example, you travel to New Mexico on vacation or have friends/family in the state.) Inform them you SUPPORT HB 15 because it would wisely ban sales of e-cigarettes to minors, but would NOT tax e-cigarettes, define them as a "tobacco product," or ban their use.   Respectfully request that they reject any amendments to HB 15.

2. Tell your story about how e-cigarettes have changed your life.



3. Explain that:
  • All evidence to date shows that the low health risks associated with e-cigarettes are comparable to other smokeless nicotine products.
  • The low risks of e-cigarettes is supported by research done by Dr. Siegel of Boston University, Dr. Eissenberg of Virginia Commonwealth, Dr Maciej L Goniewicz of the Roswell Park Cancer Institute, Dr. Laugesen of Health New Zealand, Dr. Igor Burstyn of Drexel University, and by the fact that the FDA testing, in spite of its press statement, failed to find harmful levels of carcinogens or toxic levels of any chemical in the vapor.
  • A comprehensive review conducted by Dr. Igor Burstyn of Drexel University School of Public Health based on over 9,000 observations of e-cigarette liquid and vapor found "no apparent concern" for bystanders exposed to e-cigarette vapor, even under "worst case" assumptions about exposure.  
  • By switching to a smokeless product, you have reduced your health risks by an estimated 99%.


4. Direct them to the CASAA.org website, as well as the CASAA Research Library, for more information.


Members of the New Mexico House of Representatives

Phone calls are recommended due to the volume of e-mails representatives receive each day.  Please be sure to personally contact your own Representative and ask to personally speak to him or her about this issue. Ask them to support HB 15, but vote NO on any amendments that would tax e-cigarettes, define them as "tobacco products," or restrict their usage by adults.

Comma delimited email:  eliseo.alcon@nmlegis.gov, thomas.anderson@nmlegis.gov, phillip.archuleta@nmlegis.gov, alonzo.baldonado@nmlegis.gov, paul@paulbandy.org, don.bratton@nmlegis.gov, cath@cathrynnbrown.com, gail@gailchasey.com, sharon.clahchischill@nmlegis.gov, zachary.cook@nmlegis.gov, nate.cote@nmlegis.gov, anna.crook@nmlegis.gov, george.dodgejr@nmlegis.gov, brian.egolf@nmlegis.gov, nora.espinoza@nmlegis.gov, csecows@aol.com, kelly.fajardo@nmlegis.gov, david.rsi@hotmail.com, doreen.gallegos@nmlegis.gov, maryhelen.garcia@nmlegis.gov, miguel.garcia@nmlegis.gov, stephanie.garciarichard@nmlegis.gov, natefornm@gmail.com, roberto.gonzales@nmlegis.gov, wjgray@pvtnetworks.net, jimmie.hall@nmlegis.gov, tavish38@gmail.com, jasonharpernm@gmail.com, yherrell@yahoo.com, donagale@zianet.com, sandra.jeff@nmlegis.gov, emilykane4nm@gmail.com, larry@larranaga.com, lewisfornm@gmail.com, georgene.louis@nmlegis.gov, patricia.lundstrom@nmlegis.gov, james.madalena@nmlegis.gov, antonio.maestas@nmlegis.gov, rodolpho.martinez@nmlegis.gov, ken.martinez@nmlegis.gov, bill.mccamley@nmlegis.gov, docmcmillan@gmail.com, rick.miera@nmlegis.gov, paul.pacheco@nmlegis.gov, vickie.perea@nmlegis.gov, jpandp@comcast.net, bill.rehm@nmlegis.gov, denroch@hotmail.com, debbie.rodella@nmlegis.gov, pat.roybalcaballero@nmlegis.gov, tomas.salazar@nmlegis.gov, edward.sandoval@nmlegis.gov, jim@jimsmithnm.com, sheryl.stapleton@nmlegis.gov, jeff.steinborn@nmlegis.gov, mimi.stewart@nmlegis.gov, jamesstrickler@msn.com, tom@tomtaylor.net, liz.thomson@nmlegis.gov, trippsdon@netscape.net, carl.trujillo@nmlegis.gov, christine.trujillo@nmlegis.gov, jimtrujillo@msn.com, lucky4st@msn.com, james.white@nmlegis.gov, bobwooley66@gmail.com, monica@mynmstaterep.com

Alcon, Eliseo Lee
(D-Cibola & McKinley- 6)
Box 2134
Milan, NM 87021
(505) 285-6387 
eliseo.alcon@nmlegis.gov 

Anderson, Thomas A.
(R-Bernalillo-29)
10013 Plunkett Drive NW Albuquerque, NM 87114
(505) 897-2593 
thomas.anderson@nmlegis.gov 

Archuleta, Phillip M.
(D-Dona Ana-36)
2055 Briarwood Lane
Las Cruces, NM 88005
(575) 496-8822    (575) 524-9136 
phillip.archuleta@nmlegis.gov 

Baldonado, Alonzo
(R-Valencia- 8) PO Box 370
Los Lunas, NM 87031
(505) 363-6214 
alonzo.baldonado@nmlegis.gov 

Bandy, Paul C.
(R-San Juan- 3)
388 County Road 2900
Aztec, NM 87410
(505) 334-0865 
paul@paulbandy.org 

Bratton, Donald E.
(R-Lea-62)
2012 North McKinley
Hobbs, NM 88240
(575) 393-5325    (575) 397-4093 
don.bratton@nmlegis.gov 

Brown, Cathrynn N.
(R-Eddy-55)
1814 North Guadalupe
Carlsbad, NM 88220
(575) 706-4420
cath@cathrynnbrown.com 

Chasey, Gail
(D-Bernalillo-18)
1206 Las Lomas Road NE
Albuquerque, NM 87106
(505) 246-2221    (505) 266-5191 
gail@gailchasey.com 

Chavez, Ernest H.
(D-Bernalillo-12)
1531 Severo Road SW Albuquerque, NM 87105
(505) 877-5416

Clahchischilliage, Sharon
(R-San Juan- 4) PO Box 585
Kirtland, NM 87417
(505) 258-4342    (505) 686-0836 
sharon.clahchischill@nmlegis.gov 

Cook, Zachary J.
(R-Lincoln & Otero-56)
1703 Sudderth Drive #425
Ruidoso, NM 88345
(575) 937-7644 
zachary.cook@nmlegis.gov 

Cote, Nathan "Nate"
(D-Dona Ana & Otero-53) P.O. Box 537
Organ, NM 88052
(575) 202-1872 
nate.cote@nmlegis.gov 

Crook, Anna M.
(R-Curry-64)
1041 Fairway Terrace
Clovis, NM 88101
(575) 763-4108 
anna.crook@nmlegis.gov 

Dodge, George, Jr.
(D-Cur., DeBaca, Guad. Roos. & S.M.-63) Box 316
Santa Rosa, NM 88435
(575) 472-3798 
george.dodgejr@nmlegis.gov 

Egolf, Brian F., Jr.
(D-Santa Fe-47)
128 Grant Avenue, Suite 301
Santa Fe, NM 87501
(505) 986-9641 
brian.egolf@nmlegis.gov 

Espinoza, Nora
(R-Chaves & Lincoln-59)
608 Golondrina
Roswell, NM 88201
(575) 623-5324 
nora.espinoza@nmlegis.gov 

Ezzell, Candy Spence
(R-Chaves-58) PO Box 2125
Roswell, NM 88202
(575) 625-0550 
csecows@aol.com 

Fajardo, Kelly K.
(R-Valencia- 7)
1125 North Molina
Belen, NM 87002
(505) 573-0471 
kelly.fajardo@nmlegis.gov 

Gallegos, David M.
(R-Lea-61) PO Box 998
Eunice, NM 88231
(575) 394-0099 
david.rsi@hotmail.com 

Gallegos, Doreen Y.
(D-Dona Ana-52)
3011 Broadmoor
Las Cruces, NM 88001
(575) 527-8511    (575) 649-6325 
doreen.gallegos@nmlegis.gov 

Garcia, Mary Helen
(D-Dona Ana-34)
5271 State Highway 28
Las Cruces, NM 88005
(575) 526-2726 
maryhelen.garcia@nmlegis.gov 

Garcia, Miguel P.
(D-Bernalillo-14)
1118 La Font Road SW
Albuquerque, NM 87105
(505) 877-8131 
miguel.garcia@nmlegis.gov 

Garcia Richard, Stephanie
(D-L.A., R.A., Sandoval & S.F.-43) PO Box 4657
Los Alamos, NM 87544
(505) 500-4343    (505) 672-4196 
stephanie.garciarichard@nmlegis.gov 

Gentry, Nate
(R-Bernalillo-30)
3716 Andrew Drive NE Albuquerque, NM 87110
(505) 508-0782 
natefornm@gmail.com 

Gonzales, Roberto "Bobby" J.
(D-Taos-42)
6193 NDCBU Taos, NM 87571
(575) 751-1467    (575) 758-2674 
roberto.gonzales@nmlegis.gov 

Gray, William "Bill" J.
(R-Chaves, Eddy & Otero-54)
1503 West Dallas Avenue
Artesia, NM 88210
(575) 746-2849    (575) 365-6130 
wjgray@pvtnetworks.net 

Hall, Jimmie C.
(R-Bernalillo-28)
13008 Gray Hills Road NE Albuquerque, NM 87111
(505) 294-6178 
jimmie.hall@nmlegis.gov 

Hamilton, Dianne Miller
(R-Grant, Hidalgo & Sierra-38)
4132 North Gold Street
Silver City, NM 88061
(575) 538-9336 
tavish38@gmail.com 

Harper, Jason C.
(R-Sandoval-57)
4917 Foxmoore Court NE
Rio Rancho, NM 87144
(505) 554-7970
JasonHarperNM@gmail.com 

Herrell, Yvette
(R-Otero-51) PO Box 4338
Alamogordo, NM 88311
(575) 430-2113 
yherrell@yahoo.com

Irwin, Dona G.
(D-Grant, Hidalgo & Luna-32)
420 South Slate
Deming, NM 88030
(575) 544-6003    (575) 546-9376 
donagale@zianet.com

Jeff, Sandra D.
(D-McKinley & San Juan- 5) Box 631
Crownpoint, NM 87313
(505) 786-4994 
sandra.jeff@nmlegis.gov

Kane, Emily
(D-Bernalillo-15)
9817 Riverside Drive NW Albuquerque, NM 87114
(505) 890-4319 
emilykane4nm@gmail.com

Larrañaga, Larry A.
(R-Bernalillo-27)
7716 Lamplighter NE Albuquerque, NM 87109
(505) 821-4948 
larry@larranaga.com

Lewis, Tim D.
(R-Sandoval-60) Box 45793
Rio Rancho, NM 87174
lewisfornm@gmail.com

Louis, Georgene
(D-Bernalillo-26) PO Box 72123
Albuquerque, NM 87195
(505) 938-9144    (505) 250-7932 
georgene.louis@nmlegis.gov

Lundstrom, Patricia A.
(D-McKinley & San Juan- 9)
3406 Bluehill Avenue
Gallup, NM 87301
(505) 722-2980    (505) 863-0098 
patricia.lundstrom@nmlegis.gov 

Madalena, James Roger
(D-R.A., Sandoval & San Juan-65)
373 Buffalo Hill Road
Jemez Pueblo, NM 87024
(575) 834-7005 
james.madalena@nmlegis.gov

Maestas, Antonio "Moe"
(D-Bernalillo-16)
544 61st Street NW Albuquerque, NM 87105-1408
(505) 242-2279 
antonio.maestas@nmlegis.gov

Martinez, Rodolpho "Rudy" S.
(D-Dona Ana, Grant & Sierra-39) PO Box 164
Bayard, NM 88023
(575) 537-8609    (575)537-3105 
rodolpho.martinez@nmlegis.gov

Martinez, W. Ken
(D-Bern,Cib., McK. Soc. S.J. & Val.-69) Box 730
Grants, NM 87020
(505) 287-8801    (505) 986-4776 
ken.martinez@nmlegis.gov

McCamley, Bill
(D-Dona Ana-33) PO Box 458
Mesilla Park, NM 88048
(575) 496-5731 
bill.mccamley@nmlegis.gov

McMillan, Terry H.
(R-Dona Ana-37)
2001 E. Lohman Avenue No. 282
Las Cruces, NM 88001
(575) 635-0534 
docmcmillan@gmail.com

Miera, Rick
(D-Bernalillo-11)
1011 Forrester NW Albuquerque, NM 87102
(505) 843-6641 
rick.miera@nmlegis.gov

Pacheco, Paul A.
(R-Bernalillo & Sandoval-23)
4216 Rancho Grande Place NW
Albuquerque, NM 87120
(505) 263-9235    (505) 922-0850 
paul.pacheco@nmlegis.gov 

Perea, Vickie
(R-Bern., S.F., Torrance & Valencia-50) P.O. Box 1486
Belen, NM 87002
vickie.perea@nmlegis.gov

Powdrell-Culbert, Jane E.
(R-Sandoval-44) Box 2819
Corrales, NM 87048
(505) 721-9021 
jpandp@comcast.net

Rehm, William "Bill" R.
(R-Bernalillo-31) Box 14768
Albuquerque, NM 87191
(505)259-3398 
bill.rehm@nmlegis.gov

Roch, Dennis J.
(R-Col,Cur,Har,Quay,Roos,S.M. & Un.-67) P.O. Box 477
Logan, NM 88426
(575) 799-7796 
denroch@hotmail.com

Rodella, Debbie A.
(D-Rio Arriba, Santa Fe & Taos-41)
16 Private Drive 1156
Espanola, NM 87532
(505) 753-8247 
debbie.rodella@nmlegis.gov

Roybal Caballero, Patricia
(D-Bernalillo-13) P.O. Box 72574
Albuquerque, NM 87195
(505) 710-5996 
pat.roybalcaballero@nmlegis.gov

Saavedra, Henry Kiki
(D-Bernalillo-10)
2838 2nd Street SW Albuquerque, NM 87102
(505) 350-0486

Salazar, Nick L.
(D-Colfax, Mora, R.A., & S.M.-40)
Box 1076
Ohkay Owingeh, NM 87566
(505) 663-5849    (505) 852-4178

Salazar, Tomás E.
(D-San Miguel, Santa Fe & Torrance-70) PO Box 66
Las Vegas, NM 87701
(575) 421-2455 
tomas.salazar@nmlegis.gov

Sandoval, Edward C.
(D-Bernalillo-17)
269 Gene NW Albuquerque, NM 87107
(505) 344-8449 
edward.sandoval@nmlegis.gov

Smith, James E.
(R-Bernalillo, Sandoval & Santa Fe-22) PO Box 1783
Sandia Park, NM 87047
(505) 934-1075    (505) 934-1075 
jim@jimsmithnm.com

Stapleton, Sheryl Williams
(D-Bernalillo-19) Box 25385
Albuquerque, NM 87125
(505) 265-6089 
sheryl.stapleton@nmlegis.gov

Steinborn, Jeff
(D-Dona Ana-35) PO Box 562
Las Cruces, NM 88004
(575) 635-5615 
jeff.steinborn@nmlegis.gov

Stewart, Mimi
(D-Bernalillo-21)
313 Moon Street NE Albuquerque, NM 87123
(505) 275-2355 
mimi.stewart@nmlegis.gov

Strickler, James R.J.
(R-San Juan- 2)
2204 N. Santiago Avenue
Farmington, NM 87401
(505) 327-9240    (505) 327-4190 
jamesstrickler@msn.com

Taylor, Thomas C.
(R-San Juan- 1)
5909 Rinconada
Farmington, NM 87402
(505) 320-0306    (505) 325-9828 
tom@tomtaylor.net

Thomson, Elizabeth "Liz"
(D-Bernalillo-24)
1216 Westerfeld Drive NE Albuquerque, NM 87112
(505) 239-1781 
liz.thomson@nmlegis.gov

Tripp, Don L.
(R-Catron, Socorro & Valencia-49) Box 1369
Socorro, NM 87801
(575) 835-2465    (575) 835-0766 
trippsdon@netscape.net

Trujillo, Carl
(D-Santa Fe-46)
11 West Gutierrez Street #3212
Santa Fe, NM 87506
(505) 699-6690 
carl.trujillo@nmlegis.gov

Trujillo, Christine
(D-Bernalillo-25)
1923 Madeira Drive NE Albuquerque, NM 87110
(505) 503-8600 
christine.trujillo@nmlegis.gov

Trujillo, Jim R.
(D-Santa Fe-45)
1901 Morris Place
Santa Fe, NM 87505
(505) 438-8890 
jimtrujillo@msn.com

Varela, Luciano "Lucky"
(D-Santa Fe-48)
1709 Callejon Zenaida
Santa Fe, NM 87501
(505) 982-1292 
lucky4st@msn.com

White, James P.
(R-Bernalillo-20)
1554 Catron Avenue SE Albuquerque, NM 87123
(505) 271-4746 
james.white@nmlegis.gov

Wooley, Bob
(R-Chaves, Lea & Roosevelt-66)
4504 Verdre Drive
Roswell, NM 88201
(575) 627-6277 
bobwooley66@gmail.com

Youngblood, Monica
(R-Bernalillo-68)
9832 Stone Street NW Albuquerque, NM 87114
(505) 342-6250 
monica@MyNMStateRep.com

4 comments:

  1. I sent them a juicy letter! 100% respectful and heartfelt of course! I just hope they actually read them and not some crumby intern that doesn't give a $___.

    ReplyDelete
  2. If we are convincing the public and legislators to view vaping as the same as coffee, why are we confusing them and asking them to regulate its usage to minors? Coffee isn't regulated. Why support legislation that regulates it to minors? They already are smoking. Why don't we want them to have access to something that will not harm them?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. For two reasons:
      1) Based on our information, if we don't support simple minor bans like this, then the anti-e-cigarette groups will present their own laws to lawmakers that not only ban sales to minors, but also attempt to restrict sales to adult smokers, such as licensing requirements, flavor bans, indoor use, etc. and they often attempt to redefine them as tobacco products to be taxed as such. Put simply, if we don't get a minor-only ban passed, it is highly likely someone else will get one passed that would have other rules that would be a huge impact on adult consumers.
      2) The law only prevents sales to minors, not use and possession. Nicotine is not 100% harmless (neither is caffeine) and some products that are safe for adults are not safe for developing children. Whether or not a minor should have access to nicotine products should be a decision of the parents of the minor, not a clerk at an e-cigarette shop. This law wouldn't prevent parents from getting e-cigarettes for their smoking, minor children nor from smoking children using the products.

      Delete
  3. This has passed house, voted unanimously, it is going to senate.

    ReplyDelete