Sunday, February 2, 2014

Call to Action! Utah Online Sales Ban (Effectively Would Make It Illegal for Utah Residents to Purchase Online)

Updated 3/1/14:  A Substitute 4 to HB 112 has been accepted and is now going to move to the Senate.  While CASAA does not believe that online age verification AND adult signature on delivery is necessary or appropriate, we recognize that Substitute 4 is a far better alternative than Rep. Ray's proposals, all of which include complete online sales ban, manufacturing guidelines, advertising restrictions, all with the intention of treating low-risk e-cigarettes the same (or in some cases more stringently) than combustible cigarettes.

We will continue to update this Call to Action, but, at present, CASAA urges vapers and harm reduction advocates to support HB 112 (Substitute 4), but to ask legislators to require either third-party online age verification at time of sale OR adult signature upon delivery, but not both.  Also, you should ask legislators to reject any efforts to further amend this legislation to add any additional requirements or regulations.

Updated 2/27/14:  Rep. Ray introduced a Substitute 3 to HB 112, which still contains the same problems association with earlier iterations of HB 112.  The Call to Action for HB 112 remains active and vapers and harm reduction advocates are encouraged to contact members of the Utah House of Representatives to express their strong opposition to HB 112.  (See Part I, below, of this Call to Action.)

Updated 2/25/14:  This Call to Action is being updated to ask vapers to OPPOSE HB 112, which would have the effect of dramatically reducing (or even eliminating) the availability of e-cigarettes (hardware and liquid) for adult consumers.  This Call to Action has now been divided into two sections:  (I) HB 112 and (II) SB 0012 (which has not yet been added to the third reading calendar, so we're asking vapers to focus their attention on Part I, HB 112).

Updated 2/13/14 8:30 p.m. central time:  We have just learned that SB0012 has been removed from Friday's committee hearing and will NOT be presented or discussed at this time.  Therefore, Utah Vapers has canceled the event at the capitol tomorrow morning, 2/14/14.  

Updated 2/13/14:  A public hearing for SB0012 has been set for FRIDAY, February 14th at 8:30 a.m., Room 250 (2nd floor, NE corner), Capitol Building (the main one with the dome,  N State St, Salt Lake City, UT 84114).  Utah Vapers is requesting that people attending arrive by 8:00 a.m. and meet on the front capitol steps so that vapers can enter as a community.  As a reminder, vaping is NOT permitted in the capitol building, and Utah Vapers requests that attendees remain respectful and non-confrontational.

I. HB 112

Text of HB 112

Representative Ray, a long-time opponent of e-cigarettes, has proposed legislation which he says is designed to protect the youth of Utah.  However, HB 112 will not protect the children, but, rather, will--at best--dramatically reduce consumer access to these life-saving products.  At worst, HB 112 will serve as a de facto ban on the sale of e-cigarettes in Utah.

If passed, HB 112 would, among other things:

  • Ban online sales to Utah citizens.
  • Require licensing of hardware manufacturing, retail, and liquid manufacturers.
  • Require non-Utah manufacturers (liquid and hardware) to align with Utah manufacturing standards.

HB 112 is on the 3rd reading calendar, and could be read as early as FRIDAY, 2/28/14.  Please take this opportunity to contact members of the Utah House of Representatives to let them know that you oppose HB 112.



What to say to the members of the Utah House of Representatives:

1. You are a Utah resident and while you support banning sales of e-cigarettes to minors, you OPPOSE any legislation that would limit adult access to these life-saving products.  (If you are responding to this Call to Action and are not a state resident, please mention any connection you have to the area, for example, you travel to Utah on vacation or have friends/family in the area.)

2. Tell your story on how switching to an e-cigarette has changed your life.

3. Explain that making online sales of e-cigarettes illegal would dramatically impact adult e-cigarette users in the state.  Online sales are the best (and in some cases only) choice for many adult residents in Utah.
  • Due to highly restrictive zoning requirements throughout the state, vendors have difficulty opening brick and mortar shops.  (For example, in Bountiful, Utah the city refused to renew permits for four local e-cigarette shops.)  
  • Particularly in rural areas, the nearest brick and mortar e-cigarette shop for some consumers may be hundreds of miles away.  
  • The effect of this legislation will be to basically prevent consumer access to anything other than the mass-produced products sold in convenience stores and gas stations, products which are generally of a lower quality and satisfaction level than those offered by e-cigarette shops. Lower quality and satisfaction mean less chance of successfully making the switch from smoking. (And even access to the products sold in convenience stores may be limited or eliminated if state-level manufacturing standards are imposed since manufacturers of the mass-produced products may simply decide not to sell in Utah, leaving adult Utah consumers with no access to these life-saving products.) 
  • This legislation would actually serve to protect the large tobacco and e-cigarette companies whose mass-produced products are available wherever traditional combustible cigarettes are sold.
  • Given the low risks of e-cigarette use, there is no reason for the State to do anything to make e-cigarettes less accessible to adult consumers who are choosing to use e-cigarettes as a safer alternative to smoking, thereby reducing their health risks by an estimated 99%.
    • The low risk of e-cigarettes is supported by research done by Dr. Siegel of Boston University, Dr. Eissenberg of Virginia Commonwealth, Dr Maciej L Goniewicz of the Roswell Park Cancer Institute, Dr. Laugesen of Health New Zealand, Dr. Igor Burstyn of Drexel University, and by the fact that the FDA testing, in spite of its press statement, failed to find harmful levels of carcinogens or toxic levels of any chemical in the vapor.
    • A comprehensive review conducted by Dr. Igor Burstyn of Drexel University School of Public Health based on over 9,000 observations of e-cigarette liquid and vapor found "no apparent concern" for bystanders exposed to e-cigarette vapor, even under "worst case" assumptions about exposure.
4.  Explain that imposing state-level licensing and manufacturing requirements on the manufacture of hardware and liquid that applies not only to Utah businesses but also businesses in other states:

  • Will dramatically reduce the availability of liquids and hardware for adult consumers in the state and may actually work as a de facto ban on manufacturing and sales within the state given the uncertainty of the standards that may be proposed.
  • Will create a black market for products within the state and will leave some consumers feeling that they have little choice but to go back to smoking, dramatically increasing their health risks.
  • Will not, as claimed by Rep. Ray, protect the children of Utah.  These are regulations designed to make it more difficult for adult consumers to access these life-saving products.

5.  Direct them to the CASAA.org website, as well as the CASAA Research Library, for more information.

Contact information for the Utah House of Representatives:  

Comma delimited email list:  rmenlove@le.utah.gov, dlifferth@le.utah.gov, jdraxler@le.utah.gov, eredd@le.utah.gov, curtwebb@le.utah.gov, janderegg@le.utah.gov, ryanwilcox@le.utah.gov, gfroerer@le.utah.gov, jeremyapeterson@le.utah.gov, dpitcher@le.utah.gov, bdee@le.utah.gov, rgreenwood@le.utah.gov, pray@le.utah.gov, coda@le.utah.gov, bradwilson@le.utah.gov, stevehandy@le.utah.gov, sbarlow@le.utah.gov, rogerbarrus@le.utah.gov, jimnielson@le.utah.gov, beckyedwards@le.utah.gov, dougsagers@le.utah.gov, sduckworth@le.utah.gov, jseelig@le.utah.gov, rchouck@le.utah.gov, jbriscoe@le.utah.gov, angelaromero@le.utah.gov, mikekennedy@le.utah.gov, briansking@le.utah.gov, leeperry@le.utah.gov, anicefisher@le.utah.gov, lwiley@le.utah.gov, lavarchristensen@le.utah.gov, chall@le.utah.gov, janderson34@le.utah.gov, markwheatley@le.utah.gov, parent@le.utah.gov, csmoss@le.utah.gov, ehutchings@le.utah.gov, jdunnigan@le.utah.gov, lhemingway@le.utah.gov, dmccay@le.utah.gov, jbird@le.utah.gov, earltanner@le.utah.gov, tcosgrove@le.utah.gov, seliason@le.utah.gov, mariepoulson@le.utah.gov, kivory@le.utah.gov, kstratton@le.utah.gov, rspendlove@le.utah.gov, rcunningham@le.utah.gov, greghughes@le.utah.gov, jknotwell@le.utah.gov, melbrown@le.utah.gov, kraigpowell@le.utah.gov, jmathis@le.utah.gov, kchristofferson@le.utah.gov, bgreene@le.utah.gov, jcox@le.utah.gov, vpeterson@le.utah.gov, dlayton@le.utah.gov, keithgrover@le.utah.gov, jstanard@le.utah.gov, dsanpei@le.utah.gov, blockhart@le.utah.gov, fgibson@le.utah.gov, mmckell@le.utah.gov, mroberts@le.utah.gov, mnelson@le.utah.gov, jerryanderson@le.utah.gov, kaymciff@le.utah.gov, blast@le.utah.gov, jwestwood@le.utah.gov, mnoel@kanab.net, vlsnow@le.utah.gov, dipson@le.utah.gov


Menlove, Ronda Rudd (R)
rmenlove@le.utah.gov
435-760-2618

Lifferth, David E. (R)
dlifferth@le.utah.gov
801-358-9124

Draxler, Jack R. (R)
jdraxler@le.utah.gov
435-752-1488

Redd, Edward H. (R)
eredd@le.utah.gov
435-760-3177

Webb, R. Curt (R)
curtwebb@le.utah.gov
435-753-0215

Anderegg, Jacob L. (R)
janderegg@le.utah.gov
801-901-3580

Wilcox, Ryan D. (R)
ryanwilcox@le.utah.gov
801-200-5595

Froerer, Gage (R)
gfroerer@le.utah.gov
801-391-4233

Peterson, Jeremy A. (R)
jeremyapeterson@le.utah.gov
801-390-1480

Pitcher, Dixon M.  (R)
dpitcher@le.utah.gov
801-710-9150

Dee, Brad L. (R)
bdee@le.utah.gov
801-479-5495

Greenwood, Richard A. (R)
rgreenwood@le.utah.gov
801-452-3113

Ray, Paul (R)
pray@le.utah.gov
801-725-2719

Oda, Curtis (R)
coda@le.utah.gov
801-725-0277

Wilson, Brad R. (R)
bradwilson@le.utah.gov
801-425-1028

Handy, Stephen G. (R)
stevehandy@le.utah.gov
801-979-8711

Barlow, Stewart (R)
sbarlow@le.utah.gov
801-289-6699

Barrus, Roger E. (R)
rogerbarrus@le.utah.gov
801-292-2266

Nielson, Jim (R)
jimnielson@le.utah.gov
801-550-3474

Edwards, Rebecca P. (R)
beckyedwards@le.utah.gov
801-554-1968

Sagers, Douglas V. (R)
dougsagers@le.utah.gov
435-830-3485

Duckworth, Susan (D)
sduckworth@le.utah.gov
801-250-0728

Seelig, Jennifer M. (D)
jseelig@le.utah.gov
801-428-7148

Chavez-Houck, Rebecca (D)
rchouck@le.utah.gov
801-891-9292

Briscoe, Joel K. (D)
jbriscoe@le.utah.gov
801-946-9791

Romero, Angela (D)
angelaromero@le.utah.gov
801-722-4972

Kennedy, Michael S. (R)
mikekennedy@le.utah.gov
801-358-2362

King, Brian S. (D)
briansking@le.utah.gov
801-560-0769

Perry, Lee B. (R)
leeperry@le.utah.gov
435-225-0430

Fisher, Janice M. (D)
anicefisher@le.utah.gov
801-250-2698

Wiley, Larry B. (D)
lwiley@le.utah.gov
801-520-8051

Christensen, LaVar (R)
lavarchristensen@le.utah.gov
801-808-5105

Hall, Craig (R)
chall@le.utah.gov
801-573-1774

Anderson, Johnny (R)
janderson34@le.utah.gov
801-898-1168

Wheatley, Mark A. (D)
markwheatley@le.utah.gov
801-556-4862

Arent, Patrice M. (D)
parent@le.utah.gov
801-889-7849

Moss, Carol Spackman (D)
csmoss@le.utah.gov
801-647-8764

Hutchings, Eric K. (R)
ehutchings@le.utah.gov
801-963-2639

Dunnigan, James A. (R)
jdunnigan@le.utah.gov
801-840-1800

Hemingway, Lynn N. (D)
lhemingway@le.utah.gov
801-231-2153

McCay, Daniel (R)
dmccay@le.utah.gov
801-810-4110

Bird, Jim (R)
jbird@le.utah.gov
801-280-9056

Tanner, Earl D. (R)
earltanner@le.utah.gov
801-792-2156

Cosgrove, Tim M. (D)
tcosgrove@le.utah.gov
801-647-7048

Eliason, Steve (R)
seliason@le.utah.gov
801-673-4748

Poulson, Marie H. (D)
mariepoulson@le.utah.gov
801-942-5390

Ivory, Ken (R)
kivory@le.utah.gov
801-694-8380

Stratton, Keven J. (R)
kstratton@le.utah.gov
801-836-6010

Spendlove, Robert M. (R)
rspendlove@le.utah.gov
801-560-5394

Cunningham, Rich (R)
rcunningham@le.utah.gov
801-722-4942

Hughes, Gregory H. (R)
greghughes@le.utah.gov
801-548-2922

Knotwell, John (R)
jknotwell@le.utah.gov
801-449-1834

Brown, Melvin R. (R)
melbrown@le.utah.gov
435-647-6512

Powell, Kraig (R)
kraigpowell@le.utah.gov
435-654-5986

Mathis, John G. (R)
jmathis@le.utah.gov
435-789-7316

Christofferson, Kay J. (R)
kchristofferson@le.utah.gov
801-592-5709

Greene, Brian M. (R)
bgreene@le.utah.gov
801-889-5693

Cox, Jon (R)
jcox@le.utah.gov
435-851-4457

Peterson, Val L. (R)
vpeterson@le.utah.gov
801-224-4473

Layton, Dana L. (R)
dlayton@le.utah.gov
801-717-6537

Grover, Keith (R)
keithgrover@le.utah.gov
801-319-0170

Stanard, Jon E. (R)
jstanard@le.utah.gov
435-414-4631

Sanpei, Dean (R)
dsanpei@le.utah.gov
801-979-5711

Lockhart, Rebecca D. (R)
blockhart@le.utah.gov
801-361-5457

Gibson, Francis D. (R)
fgibson@le.utah.gov
801-491-3763

McKell, Mike K. (R)
mmckell@le.utah.gov
801-210-1495

Roberts, Marc K. (R)
mroberts@le.utah.gov
801-210-0155

Nelson, Merrill F. (R)
mnelson@le.utah.gov
801-971-2172

Anderson, Jerry B. (R)
jerryanderson@le.utah.gov
435-630-3888

McIff, Kay L. (R)
kaymciff@le.utah.gov
801-608-4331

Last, Bradley G. (R)
blast@le.utah.gov
435-635-7334

Westwood, John R. (R)
jwestwood@le.utah.gov
435-586-6961

Noel, Michael E. (R)
mnoel@kanab.net
435-616-5603

Snow, V. Lowry (R)
vlsnow@le.utah.gov
435-703-3688

Ipson, Don L. (R)
dipson@le.utah.gov
435-817-5281


II.  SB0012

Text of SB0012

Utah Senator Stuart Reid has introduced a bill for the 2014 session which, if passed would

  • Ban online sales to Utah residents of any electronic cigarette product
  • Raise the age to purchase e-cigarettes to 21 (CASAA takes no position on this issue at the current time, but members are free to express their personal opinions.)

This bill has been referred to the Senate Health and Human Services Committee on January 29, 2014.  Please take this opportunity to send the members of the Senate Health and Human Services Committee accurate information about e-cigarettes and your story about how the product has improved your life.



Please call and email members of the Committee (contact information below).

What to say to the members of the Senate Health and Human Services Committee:

1. You are a Utah resident and while you support banning sales of e-cigarettes to minors, you OPPOSE any legislation that would limit adult access to these life-saving products.  (If you are responding to this Call to Action and are not a state resident, please mention any connection you have to the area, for example, you travel to Utah on vacation or have friends/family in the area.)

2. Tell your story on how switching to an e-cigarette has changed your life.

3. Explain that:
  • Making online sales of e-cigarettes illegal would dramatically impact adult e-cigarette users in the state.  Online sales are the best (and in some cases only) choice for many adult residents in Utah.
    •  Due to highly restrictive zoning requirements throughout the state, vendors have difficulty opening brick and mortar shops.  (For example, in Bountiful, Utah the city refused to renew permits for four local e-cigarette shops.)  
    • Particularly in rural areas, the nearest brick and mortar e-cigarette shop for some consumers may be hundreds of miles away.
  • The effect of this legislation will be to basically prevent consumer access to anything other than the mass-produced products sold in convenience stores and gas stations, products which are generally of a lower quality and satisfaction level than those offered by e-cigarette shops.  (Lower quality and satisfaction mean less chance of successfully making the switch from smoking.)
  • This legislation would actually serve to protect the large tobacco and e-cigarette companies whose mass-produced products are available wherever traditional combustible cigarettes are sold.
  • Given the low risks of e-cigarette use, there is no reason for the State to do anything to make e-cigarettes less accessible to adult consumers who are choosing to use e-cigarettes as a safer alternative to smoking, thereby reducing their health risks by an estimated 99%.
    • The low risk of e-cigarettes is supported by research done by Dr. Siegel of Boston University, Dr. Eissenberg of Virginia Commonwealth, Dr Maciej L Goniewicz of the Roswell Park Cancer Institute, Dr. Laugesen of Health New Zealand, Dr. Igor Burstyn of Drexel University, and by the fact that the FDA testing, in spite of its press statement, failed to find harmful levels of carcinogens or toxic levels of any chemical in the vapor.
    • A comprehensive review conducted by Dr. Igor Burstyn of Drexel University School of Public Health based on over 9,000 observations of e-cigarette liquid and vapor found "no apparent concern" for bystanders exposed to e-cigarette vapor, even under "worst case" assumptions about exposure.
4.  Direct them to the CASAA.org website, as well as the CASAA Research Library, for more information.

Contact Information for the Members of the Senate Health and Human Services Committee:

Comma delimited e-mail:  
evickers@le.utah.gov, achristensen@le.utah.gov, lrobles@le.utah.gov, bshiozawa@le.utah.gov, dthatcher@le.utah.gov

Senator: Vickers, Evan J.
Email: evickers@le.utah.gov
County(ies): Beaver, Iron, Washington
Work: 435-586-9651
Cell: 435-817-5565
Fax: 435-586-3473
Address: 2166 N COBBLE CREEK DR, CEDAR CITY, UT 84721

Senator: Christensen, Allen M.
Email: achristensen@le.utah.gov
County(ies): Morgan, Summit, Weber
Home: 801-782-5600
Address: 1233 E 2250 N, NORTH OGDEN, UT 84414

Senator: Robles, Luz
Email: lrobles@le.utah.gov
County(ies): Salt Lake
Cell: 801-550-6434
Address: 1004 N MORTON DR, SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116

Senator: Shiozawa, Brian E.
Email: bshiozawa@le.utah.gov
County(ies): Salt Lake
Cell: 801-889-7450
Address: 3177 FORT UNION BLVD, SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84121

Senator: Thatcher, Daniel W.
Email: dthatcher@le.utah.gov
County(ies): Salt Lake, Tooele
Cell: 801-759-4746
Address: 6352 W CITY VISTAS WAY, WEST VALLEY CITY, UT 84128

2 comments:

Alfonse Wulfenstein said...

I am a 19 year old Utah resident and e-cigs have saved my life, literally. I have used them not only to overcome my cigarette addiction that has put me in the hospital on life support twice, but also to stay sober from a very serious drug addiction ( currently at 196 days sober). Please please please send the tweets embedded in this CASAA post, even if you are not a UT resident if you care about helping your fellow vapers protect their rights:

https://www.facebook.com/VapingDailyActionPlan/posts/294773967342635

Jim Craig said...

I think the reason this has been tabled is that HB0112 and its latest substitution HB0112S01 is moving along very quickly and is more of a threat than SB0012. Wee need a call to action for HB0112. It can be found at:
http://le.utah.gov/~2014/bills/static/HB0112.html