Saturday, February 1, 2014

Call to Action! Vermont Bill to Ban Sale of E-Cigarettes (including to adults)

[full text and tracking for HB 632]

If enacted, this bill would:

  •  Would BAN the sale of electronic cigarettes to adults, as well as the possession of electronic cigarettes by adults.  
HB 632 has been referred to the Vermont House Committee on Human Services.  It has not yet been scheduled for a hearing.  This Call to Action will be updated when / if a hearing date is announced. 


Remember, you can register to receive free CASAA e-mail alerts regarding this and other legislation in Vermont and across the United States. We will alert you when there are other opportunities to voice your concerns to the members of the Vermont State Legislature. 

A BRIEF GUIDE TO STOPPING HB 632

(1) Call the Vermont Legislature's Sergeant-at-Arms 1-800-322-5616 and ask that this message be delivered to your State Representatives and Senators, as well as Human Services Committee Chairwoman Rep. Ann Pugh: 

“Please oppose HB 632 because it would senselessly ban the sale of electronic cigarettes to adults. [Tell your story of how e-cigarettes changed your life in a couple short sentences]." 


(2) Contact your State Representatives and Senators to ask them to oppose HB 632 for the same reasons as outlined above. Phone calls and in-person meetings are strongly encouraged. 

(3) E-mail the members of the Vermont House Human Services Committee and ask them to reject HB 632 for the same reasons as outlined above. Phone calls and in-person meetings are strongly encouraged.


Comma delimited email list: apugh@leg.state.vt.us, shaas@leg.state.vt.us, adonahue@leg.state.vt.us, lbatchelor@leg.state.vt.us, tburditt@leg.state.vt.us, bill@repbillfrank.com, efrench@leg.state.vt.us, fmcfaun@leg.state.vt.us, mmrowicki@leg.state.vt.us, matrieber@gmail.com, jkrowinski@leg.state.vt.us, tkoch@leg.state.vt.us, mgrad@leg.state.vt.us

 See below for phone numbers and additional talking points. 


Please contact the members of the Vermont House Human Services Committee and tell them:

1. You would like them to vote NO on HB 632 because restricting the sale and use of e-cigarettes to and by adults will have a negative impact on public health. 

2. Tell your story on how switching to an e-cigarette has changed your life.
 

3. Point out that banning the sale of smoke-free electronic cigarettes while allowing cigarettes to continue to be sold is a form of legislative malpractice. 

4. Tell them that by switching to a smokeless product, you have greatly reduced your health risks.
 
5. Direct them to the CASAA.org website, as well as the CASAA Research Library, for more information.


Comma delimited email list: apugh@leg.state.vt.us, shaas@leg.state.vt.us, adonahue@leg.state.vt.us, lbatchelor@leg.state.vt.us, tburditt@leg.state.vt.us, bill@repbillfrank.com, efrench@leg.state.vt.us, fmcfaun@leg.state.vt.us, mmrowicki@leg.state.vt.us, matrieber@gmail.com, jkrowinski@leg.state.vt.us, tkoch@leg.state.vt.us, mgrad@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Ann Pugh (D) Chair
67 Bayberry Lane, South Burlington, VT 05403
(802) 863-6705
apugh@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Sandy Haas (P/D) Vice-Chair
360 S. Main St., Rochester, VT 05767
(802) 767-4751
shaas@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Anne Donahue (R) Ranking Member
148 Donahue Dr., Northfield, VT 05663
(802) 485-6431
adonahue@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Lynn Batchelor (R)
165 Beach St., Derby Line, VT 05830
(802) 873-3006
lbatchelor@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Tom Burditt (R)
1118 Clarendon Ave., West Rutland, VT 05777
(802) 438-0031
tburditt@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Bill Frank, Clerk (D)
19 Poker Hill Rd., Underhill, VT 05489
(802) 899-3136
bill@repbillfrank.com

Rep. Eldred French (D)
521 Town Hill Rd., Cuttingsville, VT 05738
(802) 492-3304
efrench@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Francis McFaun (R/D)
97 Sunset Rd., Barre Town, VT 05641
(802) 479-9843
fmcfaun@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Michael Mrowicki (D)
299 South Pine Banks Rd., Putney, VT 05346
(802) 387-8787
mmrowicki@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Matthew Trieber (D)
82 Atkinson St., Bellows Falls, VT 05101
(802) 463-3338
matrieber@gmail.com

Rep. Jill Krowinski (D) SPONSOR
27 Spring Street, Burlington, VT 05401
(802) 363-3907

jkrowinski@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Thomas F. Koch (R) SPONSOR (not a committee member)
326 Lowery Rd., Barre, VT 05641
(802) 476-4141
tkoch@leg.state.vt.us


Rep. Maxine Jo Grad (D) SPONSOR (not a committee member)
301 Paddy Hill Rd., Moretown, VT 05660
(802) 496-7667
mgrad@leg.state.vt.us

1 comment:

  1. Full Text for H.632: http://www.leg.state.vt.us/docs/2014/bills/Intro/H-632.pdf

    ReplyDelete