Thursday, April 24, 2014

Call to Action! Iowa - Support Ban on Sales to Minors (HF 2109 with Dotzler Amendment S-5088)

Iowa: Ask Iowa State Senators to to Vote YES on HF 2109 with Dotzler Amendment (S-5088)
 [HF 2109 with Amendment S-5088]

 If enacted, this bill would:


  • Ban sales of "vapor products" (e-cigarettes) and "alternative nicotine products" to minors.  (In connection with "vapor products," the Dotzler Amendment would ban e-cigarette sales to, and use by, minors of devices and e-cigarette liquid, including no-nicotine liquid.)
  • NOT impose an additional tax on these these products  
  • NOT define these products to be "tobacco products" under Iowa law 




HF 2109 (with Amendment S-5088) is a common-sense bill that CASAA generally supports.  


Over the past year, the American Cancer Society, American Lung Association, Campaign for Tobacco Free Kids and various other "public health" organizations have been out lobbying against enactment of bills that ban e-cigarette sales to minors.  Why?  CASAA Science Director Dr. Carl Phillips took on this issue here and here, but it boils down to this -- these groups don't just want e-cigarette sales banned to minors.  They want e-cigarettes to be taxed and treated just like combustible cigarettes, and they are willing to stop a ban on sales of the product to minors if a bill doesn't accomplish this goal.


We need Iowa vapers to respectfully encourage their senators to vote YES on HF 2109 (with Dotzler Amendment S-5088). It is a common-sense bill that bans sales to minors but doesn't tax e-cigarettes, define them as "tobacco products," or in any way restrict adult use.  The only reservation CASAA has with this bill:  While CASAA believes that sales to youth should be criminalized, we do not support criminalization of children for status offenses, which are often only enforced against selected individuals for purposes that have nothing to do with protecting the well-being of the child.  We believe that the burden of compliance--and sanctions for noncompliance--should be squarely placed on retailers, not children.  


Please see the below list to find out who represents you or use this tool on the Iowa Legislature's website.

CASAA strongly encourages vapers to call and email members of the Iowa Senate (with particular attention to YOUR senator).

I.  Please call the main number for the Iowa Senate (515-281-3371) and ask them to support HF 2109 with Dotzler Amendment S-5088) as a common-sense measure that bans sales to minors but does not restrict sales to, or use by, adults.

II.  Please email members of the Iowa Senate (and particularly the senator who represents YOU).  Talking points for email correspondence are provided below.


What to say:
 
1. Inform them you SUPPORT HF 2109 (with Amendment S-5088) because it would wisely ban sales of "vapor products" (e-cigarettes and e-liquid) to minors, but would NOT tax e-cigarettes, define them as a "tobacco product," or ban their use.

2. Tell your story about how e-cigarettes have changed your life.


3. Explain the difference between e-cigarettes and cigarettes.  Note all evidence to date shows that the low health risks associated with e-cigarettes is comparable to other smokeless nicotine products, including the nicotine gum and patch.

The low risks of e-cigarettes is supported by research done by Dr. Siegel of Boston University, Dr. Eissenberg of Virginia Commonwealth, Dr Maciej L Goniewicz of the Roswell Park Cancer Institute,Dr. Laugesen of Health New Zealand, Dr. Igor Burstyn of Drexel University, and by the fact that the FDA testing, in spite of its press statement, failed to find harmful levels of carcinogens or toxic levels of any chemical in the vapor.


A comprehensive review conducted by Dr. Igor Burstyn of Drexel University School of Public Health based on over 9,000 observations of e-cigarette liquid and vapor found "no apparent concern" for bystanders exposed to e-cigarette vapor, even under "worst case" assumptions about exposure.


4. Inform them e-cigarettes should not be associated traditional tobacco products under state law. For hundreds of thousands of American smokers, e-cigarettes have represented a way to quit smoking

5. Tell them that by switching to a smokeless product, you have greatly reduced your health risks.

6. Direct them to the CASAA.org website, as well as the CASAA Research Library, for more information.

7.  Include your name and address (or at least city) so that the representatives know they are being contacted by Iowa citizens.  

Members of the Iowa Senate 

Phone calls are recommended due to the volume of e-mails representatives receive each day.  
(515-281-3371) Be sure to personally contact your own Senator and ask to personally speak to him or her about this issue. 

Comma delimited email list:  bill.anderson@legis.iowa.gov, daryl.beall@legis.iowa.gov, jerry.behn@legis.iowa.gov, rick.bertrand@legis.iowa.gov, dennis.black@legis.iowa.gov, nancy.boettger@legis.iowa.gov, joe.bolkcom@legis.iowa.gov, tod.bowman@legis.iowa.gov, chris.brase@legis.iowa.gov, michael.breitbach@legis.iowa.gov, jake.chapman@legis.iowa.gov, mark.chelgren@legis.iowa.gov, thomas.courtney@legis.iowa.gov, jeffdanielson@gmail.com, dick.dearden@legis.iowa.gov, bill.dix@legis.iowa.gov, bill.dotzler@legis.iowa.gov, robert.dvorsky@legis.iowa.gov, joni.ernst@legis.iowa.gov, randy.feenstra@legis.iowa.gov, julian.garrett@legis.iowa.gov, sandra.greiner@legis.iowa.gov, mike.gronstal@legis.iowa.gov, dennis.guth@legis.iowa.gov, rita.hart@legis.iowa.gov, jack.hatch@legis.iowa.gov, rob.hogg@legis.iowa.gov, wally.horn@legis.iowa.gov, hubert.houser@legis.iowa.gov, pam.jochum@legis.iowa.gov, david.johnson@legis.iowa.gov, tim.kapucian@legis.iowa.gov, liz.mathis@legis.iowa.gov, matt.mccoy@legis.iowa.gov, janet.petersen@legis.iowa.gov, herman.quirmbach@legis.iowa.gov, amanda.ragan@legis.iowa.gov, ken.rozenboom@legis.iowa.gov, charles.schneider@legis.iowa.gov, brian.schoenjahn@legis.iowa.gov, mark.segebart@legis.iowa.gov, joe.seng@legis.iowa.gov, amy.sinclair@legis.iowa.gov, roby.smith@legis.iowa.gov, steve.sodders@legis.iowa.gov, rich.taylor@legis.iowa.gov, jack.whitver@legis.iowa.gov, mary.jo.wilhelm@legis.iowa.gov, brad.zaun@legis.iowa.gov, dan.zumbach@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Bill Anderson, District 3 (R) Woodbury bill.anderson@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Daryl Beall, District 5 (D) Webster daryl.beall@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Jerry Behn, District 24 (R) Boone jerry.behn@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Rick Bertrand, District 7 (R) Woodbury rick.bertrand@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Dennis H. Black, District 15 (D) Jasper dennis.black@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Nancy J. Boettger, District 9 (R) Shelby nancy.boettger@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Joe Bolkcom, District 43 (D) Johnson joe.bolkcom@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Tod Bowman, District 29 (D) Jackson tod.bowman@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Chris Brase, District 46 (D) Muscatine chris.brase@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Michael Breitbach, District 28 (R) Clayton michael.breitbach@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Jake Chapman, District 10 (R) Dallas jake.chapman@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Mark Chelgren, District 41 (R) Wapello mark.chelgren@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Thomas G. Courtney, District 44 (D) Des Moines thomas.courtney@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Jeff Danielson, District 30 (D) Black Hawk jeffdanielson@gmail.com

Sen. Dick L. Dearden, District 16 (D) Polk dick.dearden@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Bill Dix, District 25 (R) Butler bill.dix@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. William A. Dotzler Jr., District 31 (D) Black Hawk bill.dotzler@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Robert E. Dvorsky, District 37 (D) Johnson robert.dvorsky@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Joni K. Ernst, District 12 (R) Montgomery joni.ernst@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Randy Feenstra, District 2 (R) Sioux randy.feenstra@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Julian B. Garrett, District 13 (R) Warren julian.garrett@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Sandra H. Greiner, District 39 (R) Washington sandra.greiner@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Michael E. Gronstal, District 8 (D) Pottawattamie mike.gronstal@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Dennis Guth, District 4 (R) Hancock dennis.guth@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Rita Hart, District 49 (D)  Clinton rita.hart@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Jack Hatch, District 17 (D) Polk jack.hatch@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Robert Hogg, District 33 (D) Linn rob.hogg@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Wally E. Horn, District 35 (D) Linn wally.horn@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Hubert Houser, District 11 (R) Pottawattamie hubert.houser@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Pam Jochum, District 50 (D) Dubuque pam.jochum@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. David Johnson, District 1 (R) Osceola david.johnson@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Tim L. Kapucian, District 38 (R) Benton tim.kapucian@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Liz Mathis, District 34 (D) Linn liz.mathis@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Matt McCoy, District 21 (D) Polk matt.mccoy@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Janet Petersen, District 18 (D) Polk janet.petersen@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Herman C. Quirmbach, District 23 (D) Story herman.quirmbach@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Amanda Ragan, District 27 (D) Cerro Gordo amanda.ragan@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Ken Rozenboom, District 40 (R) Mahaska ken.rozenboom@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Charles Schneider, District 22 (R) Dallas charles.schneider@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Brian Schoenjahn, District 32 (D) Fayette brian.schoenjahn@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Mark Segebart, District 6 (R) Crawford mark.segebart@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Joe M. Seng, District 45 (D) Scott joe.seng@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Amy Sinclair, District 14 (R) Wayne amy.sinclair@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Roby Smith, District 47 (R) Scott roby.smith@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Steven J. Sodders, District 36 (D) Marshall steve.sodders@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Rich Taylor, District 42 (D) Henry rich.taylor@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Jack Whitver, District 19 (R) Polk jack.whitver@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Mary Jo Wilhelm, District 26 (D) Howard mary.jo.wilhelm@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Brad Zaun, District 20 (R) Polk brad.zaun@legis.iowa.gov

Sen. Dan Zumbach, District 48 (R) Delaware dan.zumbach@legis.iowa.gov

No comments: