Friday, September 5, 2014

Call to Action! Missouri: Ask Your Legislators to Override Governor Nixon's Veto of SB 841 (Ban on Sales of E-Cigarettes to Minors)


UPDATE:  9/11/14:  Missouri Call to Action successfully concluded.  Thanks to the hard work of Bistate Regional Advocates for Vaping Education (BRAVE), both the Missouri Senate and House have voted to override Governor Nixon's veto of Senate Bill 841. Missouri now joins the majority of states which ban sales of e-cigarettes to minors. 

*************

Last month, Missouri's Governor Nixon was presented with an opportunity to sign into law a common-sense bill that would (1) prohibit sales of vapor products (e-cigarettes) to minors, and (2) clarify that vapor products are not subject to the same taxation or regulation as combustible cigarettes. However, due to pressure from "public health" groups trumpeting ideology over science, Governor Nixon opted to veto SB 841. Thankfully, Missouri has a second chance to bring this bill into law with a "veto session" scheduled for September 10th, 2014.

Missouri vapers need to act NOW to urge their legislators to overturn Governor Nixon's veto of SB 841.  

While SB 841 enjoyed strong bipartisan support when it was passed earlier this year, e-cigarette opponents are pressuring legislators to not challenge Governor Nixon's veto. Their intention is to push for stronger legislation next year that would tax e-cigarettes like combustible cigarettes and ban their use in public places.  They feel that if sales to minors are banned now, that will make it more difficult for them to pursue their anti-e-cigarette agenda next session.  Meanwhile, they appear content to allow Missouri children to continue to purchase e-cigarettes (while at the same time demanding that e-cigarettes be regulated to protect the children).

FIRST, CASAA has issued a new CQ Roll Call Campaign for Missouri vapers to express their views.  CQ Roll Call allows you to send an email directly to the legislators who are in your district.  The following link will take you to the campaign:




Although we've provided a prewritten email with compelling talking points for you to send to lawmakers, we would strongly encourage you to edit the email because personalized communications to legislators are far more persuasive than form letters.

At a minimum, PLEASE INSERT YOUR PERSONAL STORY (just a few sentences) in the text of your email.   

SECOND, for those who wish to do more, we are providing contact information for all Missouri senators so that you can call/email them directly.  (We have also indicated how each senator voted on SB 841.  "Y" indicates that the senator voted in favor of SB 841.)  We are asking that you focus your attention on the Missouri Senate since the Senate must first vote to override the veto before it can be considered by the House.

If you do not have time to call and email, we ask that you give preference to phone calls because they are generally more personalized and therefore more compelling.

When you call (and please call as many on the list as you are able), let them know:

  • You are a Missouri resident, an adult e-cigarette consumer, and you are asking them to override Governor Nixon's veto of Senate Bill 841 banning sales of e-cigarettes to minors.
  • The bill is a common-sense measure to ensure that these products are kept out of the hands of minors.  Missouri is now among a minority of states that permit the sale of e-cigarettes to minors.
  • You strongly disagree with Governor Nixon's desire to treat low-risk, smoke-free e-cigarettes exactly like combustible cigarettes.  Legislators should not allow Governor Nixon's political agenda to put children at risk by continuing to permit sales of e-cigarettes to minors.
  • If time permits, you should let them know how e-cigarettes have changed your life.

Comma delimited email list:  joe.keaveny@senate.mo.gov, paul.levota@senate.mo.gov, maria.chappellenadal@senate.mo.gov, shalonn.curls@senate.mo.gov, jason.holsman@senate.mo.gov, jolie.justus@senate.mo.gov, jamilah.nasheed@senate.mo.gov, scott.sifton@senate.mo.gov, gina.walsh@senate.mo.gov, bob.dixon@senate.mo.gov, rob.schaaf@senate.mo.gov, ryan.silvey@senate.mo.gov, dan.brown@senate.mo.gov, mike.cunningham@senate.mo.gov, tom.dempsey@senate.mo.gov, ed.emery@senate.mo.gov, mike.kehoe@senate.mo.gov, will.kraus@senate.mo.gov, brad.lager@senate.mo.gov, john.lamping@senate.mo.gov, doug.libla@senate.mo.gov, brian.munzlinger@senate.mo.gov, brian.nieves@senate.mo.gov, mparson@senate.mo.gov, david.pearce@senate.mo.gov, ronald.richard@senate.mo.gov, gary.romine@senate.mo.gov, david.sater@senate.mo.gov, kurt.schaefer@senate.mo.gov, eschmitt@senate.mo.gov, wayne.wallingford@senate.mo.gov, jay.wasson@senate.mo.gov


Senator Joseph Keaveny (Democrat, District 4)
Joe.Keaveny@senate.mo.gov
573-751-3599                      N

Senator Paul LeVota (Democrat, District 11)
Paul.LeVota@senate.mo.gov
573-751-3074                      N

Senator Maria Chappelle-Nadal (Democrat, District 14) Maria.ChappelleNadal@senate.mo.gov
573-751-4106                      Y

Senator Kiki Curls (Democrat, District 9)
Shalonn.Curls@senate.mo.gov
573-751-3158                      Y

Senator Jason Holsman (Democrat, District 7)
Jason.Holsman@senate.mo.gov
573-751-6607                      Y

Senator Jolie Justus (Democrat, District 10)
Jolie.Justus@senate.mo.gov
573-751-2788                      Y

Senator Jamilah Nasheed (Democrat, District 5)
Jamilah.Nasheed@senate.mo.gov
573-751-4415                      Y

Senator Scott Sifton (Democrat, District 1)
Scott.Sifton@senate.mo.gov
573-751-0220                      Y

Senator Gina Walsh (Democrat, District 13)
Gina.Walsh@senate.mo.gov
573-751-2420                      Y

Senator Bob Dixon (Republican, District 30)
Bob.Dixon@senate.mo.gov
573-751-2583                      A

Senator Rob Schaaf (Republican, District 34)
Rob.Schaaf@senate.mo.gov
573-751-2183                      N

Senator Ryan Silvey (Republican, District 17)
Ryan.Silvey@senate.mo.gov
573-751-5282                      N

Senator Dan Brown Republican (District 16)
Dan.Brown@senate.mo.gov
573-751-5713                      Y

Senator Mike Cunningham (Republican, District 33)
Mike.Cunningham@senate.mo.gov
573-751-1882                      Y

Senator Tom Dempsey (Republican, District 23)
Tom.Dempsey@senate.mo.gov
573-751-1141                      Y

Senator Ed Emery (Republican, District 31)
Ed.Emery@senate.mo.gov
573-751-2108                      Y

Senator Mike Kehoe (Republican, District 6)
Mike.Kehoe@senate.mo.gov
573-751-2076                      Y

Senator Will Kraus (Republican, District 8)
Will.Kraus@senate.mo.gov
573-751-1464                      Y

Senator Lager (Republican, District 12)
Brad.Lager@senate.mo.gov
573-751-1415                      Y

Senator John Lamping (Republican, District 24)
John.Lamping@senate.mo.gov
573-751-2514                      Y

Senator Doug Libla (Republican, District 25)
Doug.Libla@senate.mo.gov
573-751-4843                      Y

Senator Brian Munzlinger (Republican, District 18)
Brian.Munzlinger@senate.mo.gov
573-751-7985                      Y

Senator Brian Nieves (Republican, District 26)
Brian.Nieves@senate.mo.gov
573-751-3678                      Y

Senator Parson (Republican, District 28)
MParson@senate.mo.gov
573-751-8793                      Y

Senator David Pearce (Republican, District 21)
David.Pearce@senate.mo.gov
573-751-2272                      Y

Senator Ron Richard (Republican, District 32)
Ronald.Richard@senate.mo.gov
573-751-2173                      Y

Senator Gary Romine (Republican, District 3)
Gary.Romine@senate.mo.gov
573-751-4008                      Y

Senator David Sater (Republican, District 29)
David.Sater@senate.mo.gov
573-751-1480                      Y

Senator Kurt Schaefer (Republican, District 19)
Kurt.Schaefer@senate.mo.gov
573-751-3931                      Y

Senator Eric Schmitt (Republican, District 15)
ESchmitt@senate.mo.gov
573-751-2853                      Y

Senator Wayne Wallingford (Republican, District 27)
Wayne.Wallingford@senate.mo.gov
573-751-2459                      Y

Senator Jay Wasson (Republican, District 20)
Jay.Wasson@senate.mo.gov
573-751-1503                      Y
                                                                        
  
*For those viewing a printed version of this Call to Action, the link to the CQ Roll Call Campaign is http://cqrcengage.com/casaa/app/write-a-letter?1&engagementId=57780

No comments: