Thursday, March 17, 2016

KS - Take action to delay the vapor tax!



Update - 03.17.16

URGENT ACTION NEEDED!

TODAY at 3:30 PM The House Taxation Committee will be considering an amendment to delay the e-cigarette tax! This would push the effective date for the tax back to July of 2017!

It is VITAL that you reach out to members of the committee right NOW and urge them to support this amendment! Your call will only take a minute or two but will have a significant impact in how the committee votes on this issue.

We have provided contact information and talking points below. If you don’t live in one of the areas listed, please make a call to the rep closest to you.


Please also send an email urging members of the committee to support an amendment which will delay the tax on vapor products!


Take Action - Send an Email


Kansas - House Taxation Committee
City
Representative
Phone
Emal
Assaria
Steven Johnson
785 296-7696
steven.johnson@house.ks.gov
Eastborough
Henry Helgerson
785-296-7668
henry.helgerson@house.ks.gov
Arkansas City
Kasha Kelley
785-296-7671
kasha.kelley@house.ks.gov
Dighton
Don Hineman
785-296-7636
don.hineman@house.ks.gov
Great Bend
John Edmonds
785-296-5593
john.edmonds@house.ks.gov
Topeka
John Alcala
785-296-7371
john.alcala@house.ks.gov
Topeka
Ken Corbet
785-296-7679
ken.corbet@house.ks.gov
Topeka
Lane Hemsley
785-296-7460
lane.hemsley@house.ks.gov
Wamego
Ron Highland
785-296-7310
ron.highland@house.ks.gov
Wichita
Dennis Hedke
785-296-7699
dennis.hedke@house.ks.gov
Wichita
Mark Hutton
785 296-7488
mark.hutton@house.ks.gov

Talking Points:
  • Please support the e-cigarette tax delay amendment.
  • The Kansas vapor industry and the Department of Revenue need more time to study this issue in order to develop reasonable regulations.
  • This amendment to delay the tax is not opposed by stakeholders or the Department of Revenue.
  • As a consumer, I am dependent on your support of this amendment to preserve my access to vapor retailers in Kansas.

Original Post - 02.18.16

Kansas lawmakers need to hear from you!


The 20¢ per milliliter tax on e-liquid that was wedged into the state’s budget last year will take effect this July if we don’t act NOW to stop it. This harmful tax was rushed through last year without a single public hearing as part of the budget process.


In order to further study the issue, we are asking Kansas lawmakers to pass a new bill that would delay the tax for at least another year.


Please take action today by sending an email and calling your representatives in Topeka to urge them to support delaying the new tax on vapor products.


Take Action - Send an Email


Oppose KS Vapor Taxes - Make A Call




(Writing Tip #1) If you have a lot to say, please craft your email in a separate word doc and then copy/paste it into the field provided.  If you take too long, they system will time out and you will lose your work.
(Writing Tip #2) Although we've provided a prewritten email with compelling talking points, we would strongly encourage you to edit the email because personalized communications to legislators are far more persuasive than form letters.  At a minimum, PLEASE INCLUDE YOUR PERSONAL STORY (just a few sentences) in the text of your email.

No comments: